☰ Menu

Share: Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+

Our Team

Hoteliers since 1896, the Grose family and their team have a tradition of giving committed service and warm hospitality to guests and visitors to Thurlestone. Their mission statement is “We strive to exceed our guests expectations so they wish to return.”

Matthew Grose Managing Director and family member in charge of Thurlestone Estates – The Thurlestone Hotel and Mullion Cove Hotel in Cornwall.  matt@thurlestone.co.uk

Tim Hassell Estates director.

Kevin Keenan, General Manager. Some guests may remember Kevin when he worked for Thurlestone Estates 2003-2007 as Manager of Dryburgh Abbey Hotel in Scotland Kevin@thurlestone.co.uk.

Piers Rogers Purchasing control manager. Many guests know Piers who has worked in many departments of the hotel since he joined nearly 40 years ago. piers@thurlestone.co.uk

Hugh Miller Executive chef. Hugh joined Thurlestone from the QE2. Hugh has worked for the Grose family for 20 years and knows many regular guests’ culinary tastes and preferences. He is often called upon to create special celebratory meals and, dietary-trained, he is happy to meet with guests to discuss specific menus or diet requirements. hugh@thurlestone.co.uk

Luigi Roberto Restaurant manager. Luigi has joined the hotel this year and has more than 20 years experience as a Maitre d’ at prestigious hotels in South Devon. luigi@thurlestone.co.uk

Adam Willcocks Assistant Manager. Adam is one of our Duty Manager but also runs the Bars departments and works with Piers Rogers with stock control to many guests.

Shona Iles Housekeeper. Shona has been with Thurlestone over the last 27 years and has seen all the changes at the hotel especially with the bedrooms. shona@thurlestone.co.uk

Tracey Putt Head receptionist. Tracey is likely to be the first person that guests meet on arrival at Thurlestone. She has worked with the family for 15 years and knows the answer to every question about the hotel, its facilities, what to do and where to go in the local area. tracey@thurlestone.co.uk

Peter Hvisc Head Porter. Peter has been helping guests for the last 10 years.

Amanda Day Spa Manager. Amanda is a trained Decléor beauty therapist and can advise guests and non-residents on all aspects of how to boost well being using the treatments and spa facilities. amanda@thurlestone.co.uk

Scott  Village Inn Manager.  Scott has returned to the Village inn as manager having previously worked as barman and many of our guests will remember him.  Scott is popular with locals and guests enjoying the relaxed ambience of the Village Inn.

Roland Johns Maintenance and grounds manager. Roland manages the estate, buildings and grounds while his wife Linsay is responsible for all the beautiful flower arrangements, tubs and trough planters in the hotel.

Sophie Pine Events and duty manager. Sophie is the first point of contact for guests and non-residents looking for a bespoke tailored event for celebrations, weddings or conferences. sophie@thurlestone.co.uk